Board Minutes

Artwork courtesy of CJ Brown

Updated 11/08/22

Wisconsin Angus Association
Board of Directors Meeting

February 11, 2012
Wintergreen Resort, Wisconsin Dells,
Before the Annual Meeting

Before the annual meeting a board meeting was held. President Hawthorne called the meeting to order. Those present: Andy Mindemann, Dusty Henningfeld, Cody Quam, Casey Jentz, Jackie Bevan, Jim Hawthorne, Scott Gaffney, Dale Heagle, Becky Henderson, Mel Niemann, Justin Diefenbach and Ardel Quam.

Mindemann moved to accept the minutes from October. Gaffney seconded the motion. Motion carried

Board of directors there are 3 spots open of those 3- 1 is not available for re-election. Have 1 confirmed to run plus hoping that from the floor will have nominations. Andy, Dusty, Dennis are eligible for re election.

Questions from Heagle about how to divide up the semen for the fund raising that we have. After some discussion it was decided to split it up between some being buy chances and then the rest auction after the meal.

Mel Nieman brought awards to be given out for having top performing bulls at the 2 state test stations. He will present these during the annual meeting.

Decided by the board by general consensus to give out all the awards during the meeting to keep the meal/banquet a social event.

Old business: State Sale- real slow getting numbers in for the sale. 21 live lots and 2 embryo lots have been entered. Concerned about the number minimum would be 40 cataloged to go forward. The committee is looking at different ways to keep costs down. Is three ring men necessary? All board members present are in favor of letting the sale committee to make the decisions to keep the sale.

Henderson will talk about the new rules for the steer and futurity classes.

Mindemann wanted to get feelings of the board about the Angus steer champion at WSF. Do we present it to the membership? The goal of getting money for the Angus champion for the sale is to promote and increase the Angus steer show. Mindemann will continue to work on it.

WSF: It is the Angus board's year to select the names for consideration for the open Angus show at the Wisconsin State Fair. Nominations were opened. Jentz nominated Cody Sankey, Mindemann nominated Kyle Conley, Missouri; Brian Barragee, Montana. Gaffney moved to accept the nominations as presented. Seconded by Heagle and carried. These names will forwarded to WSF for their selection.

Judge nominations for spring preview open show, June 11, 2012. Nominated were Brian Finnestad. Luke Lemminger, Cody Jensen, Iowa. Mindemann moved to accept those nominations in the order of presentation. Quam seconded the motion carried.

Miller: 1 high school scholarship and 1 post high school and an award to Miss Wisconsin Angus will be given out during the annual meeting.

Website- Bevan reported on the face book updates have been made. But she admitted that website is behind.

WCA: Arin Crooks new president.

Motion to adjourn: Heagle moved to adjourn. Gaffney seconded the motion and the meeting was adjourned.

Respectfully submitted,

Ardel Quam

Wisconsin Angus Association
Board of Directors Meeting

After the Annual Meeting
February 11, 2012
Wintergreen Resort, Wisconsin Dells

The meeting was called to order by president Jim Hawthorne. Those present were: Jim Hawthorne, Scott Gaffney, Andy Mindemann, Kathy Miller, Casey Jentz, Dale Heagle, Cody Quam, Dusty Henningfeld, Mel Niemann, Becky Henderson, Justin Diefenbach, Jessica Radcliffe, Jackie Bevan, Jenny Kilpatrick and Ardel Quam.

New Business: Election of officers. Hawthorne opened the floor for nominations for president. Andy Mindemann was nominated for president by Bevan. Bevan moved to close nominations and cast a unanimous ballot. Gaffney seconded the motion. Andy Mindemann is the new president. Mindemann opened nominations for vice president. Scott Gaffney was nominated by Diefenbach. Hawthorne moved to close nominations and cast a unanimous ballot. Jentz seconded the motion. Motion carried. Scott Gaffney was elected the vice president. Ardel Quam was nominated for secretary/treasurer. Henderson moved to close nominations and to cast a unanimous ballot. Seconded by Henningfeld and carried.

Meeting dates: The next board meeting will be March 27th at 7:00 at Days Inn, Portage. Quam will check to see if the room is available that evening.

Seeing no further business Heagle moved to adjourn the meeting. Hawthorne seconded the motion. Meeting was adjourned.

Respectfully submitted,

Ardel Quam,

Wisconsin Angus Association

Cassandra Garcia, WAA Manager • 7620 E County Road X • Clinton, WI 53525
• (425) 753-7782
Hosted By Angus Media Web Design